On Graduating College and “It’s-Time-for-Real-Life”

tumblr_mh73yhhggW1ro2mzno1_500

It’s about graduation time again, and with every accepted graduation request I see posted on Facebook I find myself feeling (of course) incredibly excited for everyone but also more than a little envious.

I remember this time last year, the anxiety and stress of writing my thesis, of Capstone presentations, and of course, the sheer joy of being done with all of it. Senioritis is a beautiful and a horrible thing. It makes every little task seem unbearable but it makes even the most relentless perfectionist feel just fine about slacking off a little.

Now, a year later, I’m realizing that the rest of life might just be Senior year. Or there’s just no end in sight, I’m not sure. All I know is that now I’m having nightmares about falling into the deep dark endless black hole of the Job Market while Student Loans cackle hideously and poke me with pitchforks (plus there’s Fixed Interest down there draining away my life blood but at this point I’ve already sold my soul for a Master’s degree and who cares?). This time last year I was dreaming of mountains to climb, sharp rocky mountains with views even more beautiful than the one on top of the mountain I’d already scaled.

Well…the past definitely looks better from halfway up this mountain, and I am forgetting about all the anxiety and fear that really does come with graduation. And for those of you who don’t have aspirations of being a perpetual student like me, the Job Market is looming right after you toss that cap in the air.

So, my advice to you? Party hard, relax, and don’t worry too much. You have the rest of your life for that.

Leave a Reply

