How to be a Perpetual Wanderer, Part 2

223148_277002719078833_1482458445_n

Once again it’s been an absurdly long time since I’ve posted and I have a long list of excuses to match.  The weather here in London has been (seriously!) fantastic, I’ve been slaving away on my dissertation, oh and I have a badass new circuit-based workout which is making my abs unbelievably sore.

Plus, there have been tons of news stories recently, which have powerfully cemented my disillusionment.  But I won’t go into these now.

Instead, I have an announcement to make.

Dear Internet, I am officially announcing on your pages the fact that this 28th of September I will be married.  I could write a book about what this means to a highly cynical feminist who never expected or thought she would ever want to get married.  I’m not even going to discuss this either, because frankly, I don’t know that it’s any of your business at this point.

Instead, what I would like to ponder publicly is a continuation of an earlier post I made.  The previous was a list of ways to survive a lifestyle that takes you far away from many of the people you love.  This one will address the same theme, but in a different way.

The day of my wedding will be a joyous celebration spent with a lot of amazing people.  But not all of my family, or my closest friends will be able to make it all the way to Rome for the occasion.  This won’t be the first important moment of my life that I’ve spent far away from many of my loved ones. Since I made the decision to uproot my life from the US to Europe, this became a constant reality of my existence. My 21st birthday is one of the most memorable. I had a wonderful time with a lot of good friends, but I definitely missed all my craziest American buddies who would have bought me shot after shot to celebrate my state of legal-ity.

Enough rumination…here’s my advice if that is indeed what you are seeking.

As with all homesickness and nostalgia, dealing with these moments in life requires that you appreciate what you have.  And I have a wonderful diverse clan of friends who may not have known me long but have been my family since I left Portage, Michigan behind.  And while I will certainly be missing my little brother and my cast of heavily drinking American friends, I have a whole new group of friends who will be headbanging at my reception with me, and I will also be lucky enough to share the celebration with my parents and grandmother.

Plus, appreciating what you have requires appreciating those who can’t be there with you.  I think this is one of the most important parts of being a perpetual wanderer, learning to maintain relationships with people you may rarely get to see, people who miss your special occasions, while you miss theirs.  And at the end of the day, while those special occasions are certainly important, and can be the opportunity for fantastic parties, we should always remember to appreciate the simplest of moments, whether it be a roadtrip to buy fireworks that are banned in your state, a really great concert, or just a night filled with beer and great conversation.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

