Summer Reading List 2016

When I was a kid, summer was the time we took bi-weekly trips to the local library and brought home stacks of 20 books. The plastic over their covers wrinkled, and when you opened them they cracked at the spine and exuded the scent of library.

When I first moved to Italy I barely read for pleasure, without a steady source of English-language books to keep me company. My first summer in Rome, I scoured the tiny school library for fiction books but barely found anything. For some reason they had what seemed like the full works of William Faulkner and nothing else.

Now that I have an e-reader, I no longer have the scent of library books, but I do have access to anything I could ever want to read.

These are the top ten books I plan to download and devour this summer (although my trip home in August means I may be able to go back to old habits in the library as well).

  1. The Last Illusion by Porochista Khakpour

  2. Orlando by Virginia Woolf

  3. The Unfinished World and Other Stories by Amber Sparks

  4. A Manual for Cleaning Women Lucia Berlin

  5. The Almanac of the Dead: A Novel by Leslie Marmon Silko

  6. Swamplandia! by Karen Russell

  7. Homegoing: A novel by Yaa Gyasi

  8. The Lowland by Jhumpa Lahiri

  9. Boy, Snow, Bird by Helen Oyeyemi

  10. Tishomingo Blues by Elmore Leonard

Leave a Reply

